Posted by: Steve | March 8, 2009

Lesson 4 – Sanity

Lesson 4   SANITY

 

Principle 2:  Earnestly believe that God exists, that I matter to Him, and that He has the power to help me recover.

Mt5:4  Happy are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted

 

Step 2:  We came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.

Phil 2:13  For it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.

 

 

Step 1 – realize that our lives are out of control.  The next step is to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.

Moving from chaos to hope.

 

Insanity – doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result each time.

 

Sanity – wholeness of mind; making decisions based on the truth.

Jn 14:6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

Strength

Acceptance

New Life

Integrity

Trust

Your Higher Power

When we believe that Jesus Christ has the power to restore us to SANITY

Strength – When we receive Christ we receive strength to face the fears that in the past have caused us to fight, flee or freeze.

Ps 46:1 – God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble

Ps 73:26 My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart  and my portion forever.

Mt 11:28-30 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

When we depended upon our own strength we were disconnected from our true power source—God

Acceptance – realistic expectations of ourselves and others. “the courage to change the things we can and to accept the things we cannot change.”  With acceptance comes responsibility – stop placing all the blame on others for our past actions and hurts.

Phil 4:12-13 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13I can do everything through him who gives me strength

New Life – When a person becomes a Christian he becomes a brand new person inside

2 Cor 5:17 – Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

Eze 36:26 – I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.

Integrity – We gain integrity as we begin to follow through on our promises.

Jn 8:32, 36 – Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.  So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

Truth fears nothing—nothing but concealment.  Truth may hurt but it’s lies that leave the scars.

Jn 14:6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

Trust – We begin to trust in our relationships with others and with God.

Pr 29:25 – Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the LORD is kept safe

1 Pet 5:7 – 7Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

1 Cor 10:13 – No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.

In recovery you can find real friends, brothers and sisters in Christ, to walk beside you on your journey through the principles.

Your Higher Power – Jesus Christ loves you just the way you are

Lk 19:10 – For the Son of Man came to seek and to save what was lost.”

Rom 5:8 – But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Rom 8:38-39 – For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[d] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

